Start Learning Spanish in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

What languages do you study/speak?

Joseph
Expert on Something

What languages do you study/speak?

Postby Joseph » September 10th, 2008 5:02 pm

Today, we want to ask what languages you have studied and/or currently speak?

As for me, I'm a native English-speaker (American English). I'm fluent in Spanish. While learning Spanish, I caught the bug and moved on to Portuguese and Latin. I'm probably about an Intermediate in Portuguese and Latin, and I have to say, every time that I hear or read one of those languages, I am always motivated to study more!

So, let us know a little about your background!

Saludos,

Joseph

Bouks
Been Around a Bit

Postby Bouks » September 14th, 2008 3:08 am

These are the languages I studied, in order of my exposure to them:

Spanish
French
Persian
Arabic
Japanese
Korean

The only one I am fluent in is French...the others are in varying stages of disuse :roll:
My strategy was to cram as many languages in my head as I could, so I'd have a "base" in each one, and they would be easier to come back to when I get older :wink: Do you think it will work?

Get 40% OFF
mariposa
Been Around a Bit

Postby mariposa » September 14th, 2008 9:18 am

Hi,
I'm a native German-speaker, at school I learned Russian, English and French, from these 3 languages I understand and speak still English and French, as for Russian, I can read at least the kyrillic alphabet and understand some words and phrases - maybe I should try the new russianpod101.com
After school I studied French and Portuguese. During the studies I had do learn also a bit of Latin, but I think Latin makes only sense (at least for me) if you learn it before you begin to study it before other Roman languages. Portuguese is today my "best" language, because I need it in my job and speak it every day.